Mamata Banerjee to take oath as Chief Minister of West Bengal for third time today

Image Source : PTI (FILE)

Mamata Banerjee to take oath as West Bengal Chief Minister for third time today

Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee will likely be sworn in as the Chief Minister of West Bengal for the third time today. Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar will administer to her the oath of workplace and of secrecy at Raj Bhavan at 10:45 AM.

The newly elected TMC MLAs had on Monday unanimously elected Mamata Banerjee as the legislative get together chief at a gathering in Kolkata. Banerjee had then tendered her resignation from the workplace of the Chief Minister to the Governor.

Mamata’s swearing-in will likely be a low-key programme given the continuing COVID-19 pandemic. According to stories, just a few invitees will likely be current on the programme as a result of of the continuing pandemic. Invitations have been despatched to her predecessor Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, chief of Opposition of the outgoing House Abdul Mannan and CPI(M) veteran chief Biman Bose.

Chief ministers of different states and leaders of different political events haven’t been invited for the programme protecting in thoughts the present COVID-19 scenario within the nation. TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee, ballot strategist Prashant Kishor and get together chief Firhad Hakim are probably to be current on the ceremony scheduled to be held on the Raj Bhavan. BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has additionally been invited for the ceremony.

Soon after taking oath, Banerjee will go to the state secretariat ‘Nabanna’ the place she will likely be given ‘guard of honour’ by Kolkata Police.

Biman Banerjee, the speaker within the outgoing House, has been elected as the pro-tem speaker within the new Assembly. The newly-elected MLA will take oath within the Assembly from May 6.

The Trinamool Congress got here to energy for the third time in a row in West Bengal, pocketing 213 of the 292 meeting seats that went to polls, whereas its predominant challenger, the BJP, bagged 77 seats.

Latest India News

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: